St. Patrick's Society Singapore has been an active, vibrant organisation within the Irish community.  The society allows the Irish community and friends of Ireland, to celebrate culture and heritage through social gatherings and events, to create an Irish family in Singapore.  

Legend has it St. Patrick's Society Singapore had its inception in Victoria Memorial Hall in 1925. However, the earliest remaining record is a notice in the Straits Times on 4 March 1947 about the upcoming St. Patrick's Day dinner and dance. The St. Patrick's Society Shillelagh of Office lists H.P. Bryson as the first president from 1947-1948, according to Rosemary Lim's An Irish History of Singapore.

The society is run by a committee of dedicated volunteers who work each year to organise events and support for the members of the Irish community here in Singapore.  ​Our aim is to provide a truly Irish warm welcome to all who are interested in being part of our vibrant and flourishing society. 

The Society runs a number of events throughout the year, traditionally, the Christmas Bazaar, Kids Christmas party, pub quiz, coffee mornings, cultural evenings, to help people connect.  One of the highlights of the calendar is the St. Patrick's Ball held in March to celebrate the feast of St. Patrick, Ireland and what it means to be Irish.  In the last 2 years, Covid - 19 social responsibilty guidelines have meant that a lot of our events have gone virtual and we have been unable to hol our annual ball. We still strive to be a source of connection to home but have had to think outside the box in the last year and a half. Our Long Walk Home event and our Virtual St. Patrick's Day Parade has demonstrated our community's spirit and commitment to working and coming together. Visit our Past Events page for more details on those and other events. If you would like to have a say in what we do for you please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

We are proud to have the Irish Ambassador Pat Bourne as our patron to the Society.  Pat Bourne took up his post as Irish Ambassador to Singapore in August 2018 and has been a tremendous supporter of the Society ever since. 

The Current Committee 2020/2021:

President - Joy Flanagan

Vice President - Nadia Kiely

Treasurer - Jean Treacy

Secretary - Simon Brook

Conor Doheny

Clodagh Ryan

Mary Holland

Sarah Dunne

Committee 1_edited.jpg
Committee 2_edited.jpg